IHSAA News Release

June 12, 2010

Defending state champion Avon and last year’s runner-up Evansville North are among nine teams returning from 2009 as the 74th Annual IHSAA Boys Golf State Finals begin Tuesday at The Legends of Indiana Golf Course in Franklin.

Twenty-one teams advanced five golfers each and 29 individuals have moved on without their squads for a total of 134 participants representing 47 schools. Players will tee off the Middle 9 course and the Road 9 course beginning at 8 am ET / 7 am CT on Tuesday. Those teams and individuals that make the cut will return for a second day on Wednesday with the first group again starting at 8 am ET. The first round tee times and pairings are available here.

Second-ranked Avon which took second to No. 4 Brebeuf Jesuit at the regional, is making its fifth straight appearance at the state finals, the longest active string among teams competing this weekend. Top-ranked Hamilton Southeastern, No. 6 Evansville North and unranked Lafayette Jefferson have each advanced for the fourth year in a row.

The most recent poll from the state coaches association may be accessed here.

Nine individuals that finished in the top 25 a year ago have also made their way back for another shot at top honors including a pair who shared the runner-up spot. Avon junior Patrick Rodgers shot a 69 on Thursday and won a one-hole playoff at Hickory Stick to take top honors will be joined by Evansville North senior David Mills who shot a 74 at Country Oaks to help Evansville North repeat as regional champions.

Triton celebrated the school’s first regional championship in the sport as it won the team crown at Battle Ground and will be joined by Evansville Harrison, the runner-up at Country Oaks, in making their first trip to state as a team. Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger also broke through to state for the first time since 1978 with a second place finish at Orchard Ridge.

Fans and media are invited to view the progress of the state finals by visiting www.golfstat.com. The IHSAA will post the hole-by-hole scores for every player throughout the two days.

State Finals
The Legends of Indiana Golf Course, 2555 N. Hurricane Road, Franklin, IN, 46131.
About The Course | Driving Directions | Course Statistics | Course Photographs
Dates: Tuesday, June 15 (Round One); Wednesday, June 16 (Round Two).
Time: 8 am ET / 7 am CT both days.
Admission: $8.00 per session; $12.00 both sessions.
Advancement from Round One to Round Two: Top nine teams; Any team within 12 strokes of the lead after Round One; Top nine individuals, excluding those individuals who advance with a team plus; Any individual within four strokes of the lead after Round One; Teams tied for ninth place and medalists tied for ninth.
Live Scoring: www.golfstat.com
Tuesday Tee Times & Pairings | State Tournament Information

Media Information

Media Hosts: Sports Information Director Jason Wille and staff assistant Mike Wilson will be on hand to assist in your coverage.

Media Credentials: The 2009-10 IHSAA State Finals Media Credential issued previously this year will allow for admission. To apply, please e-mail your request (with name of individual) as soon as possible to IHSAA Sports Information Director Jason Wille at jwille@ihsaa.org. E-mail requests MUST originate from a recognized business account; e-mails from personal accounts (ie: yahoo.com, aol.com, etc.) will not be accepted. Deadline is Monday, June 14, 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT. Approved requests will be left for pickup at the team check-in table located between the clubhouse and the cart barn. A limited amount of riding carts will be available to members of the media on a first-come, first-served basis. Your credential is necessary for cart rental. Please check in at the clubhouse for details. Carts will not be issued to the general public.

Services: Working space and wireless access will be available in the cart barn. Please be aware that pool phone service will NOT be provided as in previous years. Copies of the official program including scorecards also will be available along with results from both days of the event. Tee-times and pairings for Wednesday’s second round will be posted to the IHSAA website as soon as possible on Tuesday afternoon/evening.


Teams Qualified (21) *indicates regional champion.
Avon, Brebeuf Jesuit*, Carmel*, Columbus North, Evansville Harrison, Evansville North*, Floyd Central*, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Hamilton Southeastern, Harrison (West Lafayette), Jasper, Lafayette Jefferson, Martinsville, Noblesville, Penn, Providence, South Bend St. Joseph’s, Tipton*, Triton, Valparaiso*, Warsaw*.

Teams Returning from 2009 State Finals (9 of 21)
Avon, Brebeuf Jesuit, Carmel, Evansville North, Floyd Central, Hamilton Southeastern, Lafayette Jefferson, Providence, Warsaw.

Individuals Qualified without a Team (29)
Garrett Bracht (12) Huntington North.
Beau Bridgland (12) Princeton.
Cameron Cox (11) Monroe Central.
Franklin Crist (11) Blackford.
Daniel Elliott (12) Hauser.
Jon Finley (11) Homestead.
Andrew Fogg (11) Roncalli.
Thomas Goss (11) Terre Haute South.
Jake Groninger (11) Pendleton Heights.
Nick Grubnich (11) Crown Point.
Braxton Heimbach (12) Frankfort.
Zach Hochstedler (9) Fairfield.
Tyler Keith (12) Oak Hill.
Derek Kundenreich (11) Yorktown.
Patrick Kundenreich (12) Yorktown.
Dustin Lawson (11) Jennings County.
Matthew Lower (12) Concord.
Tyler Merkel (12) Evansville Central.
Nico Mingione (11) Shawe Memorial.
Tyler Nicol (11) Boone Grove.
Rylan Porter (10) Monrovia.
Ian Shoup (11) Bloomington North.
Graham Singer (12) Zionsville.
E.J. Tackett (11) Huntington North.
Tim Talley (11) Portage.
Brian Ulrich (11) Fairfield.
Chase Wagner (10) Bedford North Lawrence.
Matthew Wiersema (12) Fort Wayne Canterbury.
Thad Wireman (11) Twin Lakes.

Individuals Returning from 2009 Top 25 (9)
T2. David Mills, Evansville North.
T2. Patrick Rodgers, Avon.
4. Andrew Fogg, Roncalli.
T5. Tyler Merkel, Evansville Central.
T9. Maxwell Bowling, Evansville North.
T9. Parker Sheppard, Hamilton Southeastern.
T18. David Janney, Avon.
T25. David Frank, Floyd Central.
T25. Jay Holderman, Floyd Central.

Most Consecutive State Finals Appearances
21: Indianapolis Shortridge (1932-1957; State Tournament was discontinued from 1942-46 due to WWII).

Active Streaks of Consecutive State Finals Appearances (3 or more years)
5: Avon.
4: Evansville North, Hamilton Southeastern, Lafayette Jefferson.
3: Providence.

First-Time Team State Finals Appearances
Evansville Harrison, Triton.

State Finals Appearance Droughts Broken (10 years or more)
32: Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger (1978).
17: South Bend St. Joseph’s (1993).
12: Tipton (1998).
11: Martinsville (1999).

Former State Champions in the Field

Former State Runners-Up in the Field
David Mills, 12, Evansville North (2009).
Patrick Rodgers, 11, Avon (2009).


IHSAA 09-10/40