IHSAA News Release

October 13, 2009

The pairings for The 37th Annual IHSAA Football State Tournament presented by the Indianapolis Colts were drawn this evening at the Colts headquarters, the Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance Football Center, in Indianapolis.

This is the first of a three-year agreement with the Indianapolis Colts as the presenting sponsor of the entire high school state tournament.

Three hundred eighteen schools (318), one more than last season, have entered this year’s tournament to set a record for the five-class tournament which began in 1985.

All but two schools will begin sectional play on Friday, October 23. Bedford North Lawrence and Batesville drew byes in their respective seven-team sectionals and will begin play on the road on October 30. Bedford North Lawrence will be at the Castle-Jeffersonville winner in Class 5A, Sectional 8, and Batesville will travel to the Rushville-Greensburg winner in Class 3A, Sectional 22.

Forty sectional champions will be crowned on Friday, November 6. Regional games will be played Friday, November 13, and semi-states on Friday, November 20.

The 10 teams that earn a berth in the state finals will play on Thanksgiving weekend in Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Colts, which will serve as the site for the championship games for the second year. The Class A and 2A championship games are slated for Friday, November 27, with the 3A, 4A and 5A games the next day. In all, 313 games will be played around the state over the six-week tournament.

Two of the five top-ranked teams in this week’s state coaches polls are also defending state champions. In 2A, top-ranked Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter has moved up a class after winning last year’s 1A crown. The Raiders will host Union County in the first round of Sectional 29. A possible game against 2A defending champ Heritage Christian looms in the semifinal round as the Eagles host Park Tudor. In Class 4A, No. 1 Indianapolis Cathedral will begin its attempt for a repeat when it takes on Lebanon at home in Sectional 14.

Among other current No. 1 teams, a huge showdown right out of the gate occurs as top-ranked Pioneer opens up on the road at No. 2 Lafayette Central Catholic in Sectional 34. In 3A, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard will host Crawfordsville in Sectional 21. And in 5A, top-ranked Carmel, the 2007 state champion and last year’s state runner-up, begins on the road at Westfield in Sectional 4.

Two schools will make their debuts in this year’s tournament. Bowman Leadership Academy is entered in Class 2A, Sectional 25 and will travel to Hammond Bishop Noll and; Monroe Central, part of Class A, Sectional 36, will play host to Tri.

Sectional Brackets: 5A | 4A3A | 2AA

Regional, Semi-State, State Brackets: 5A4A | 3A | 2AA

State Coaches Poll



State Championship Games: The five state championship games will be hosted for the second year in Lucas Oil Stadium on Thanksgiving weekend (Nov. 27-28).

Total Schools Entered: 318 (new record for five-class tournament which began in 1985). 313 games will be played over the six-week tournament.

New Schools Entered for First Time
Bowman Leadership Academy (Class 2A, Sectional 25).
Monroe Central (Class A, Sectional 36).

Most State Championships
9: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, Sheridan.
8: Roncalli.
7: Ben Davis, Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Indianapolis Cathedral.
6: Carmel, Warren Central.
5: Penn.
4: Franklin Central, Hobart, Jimtown.

All-Time Consecutive Tournament Victories
26: Warren Central, 2003-07.
23: Roncalli, 2002-05; Sheridan, 2005-08.
22: Penn, 1995-98; Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, 2001-04.

Active Consecutive Tournament Victory Streaks
6: Bellmont, Center Grove, Heritage Christian, Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter, Indianapolis Cathedral.

Defending Sectional Champions
5A: Ben Davis, Carmel, Castle, Center Grove, Fort Wayne Snider, Merrillville, Penn, Warren Central.
4A: Columbus East*, Delta, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Griffith, Indianapolis Cathedral, Jasper, Lowell, Zionsville*.
3A: Andrean, Bellmont, Evansville Memorial, Heritage Hills, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, North Montgomery, NorthWood, Yorktown.
2A: Brownstown Central, Cass, Heritage Christian, Jimtown*, Madison-Grant, Rensselaer Central, Southridge, Speedway.
A: Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter*, Lapel, Linton-Stockton, Pioneer, Rockville, Sheridan, Southern Wells, Triton.
*Schools competing in different class in 2009.

Active Sectional Championship Streaks (three or more years)
8: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard.
6: Lowell.
5: Sheridan.
4: Griffith.
3: Carmel, Columbus East, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter, Indianapolis Cathedral, Southridge.

Most Consecutive Sectional Championships
19 by Hobart, 1979-97.

Most Sectional Championships Last 10 Years
9: Penn.
8: Ben Davis, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard.

Top 10 All-Time Sectional Championships
22: Carmel.
19: Hobart, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard.
18: Ben Davis, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Jimtown, Penn.
17: Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Sheridan.
16: Adams Central, Fort Wayne Snider, NorthWood, Roncalli.


IHSAA 09-10/11