IHSAA News Release

August 24, 2011

Eighteen high school student-athletes from across Indiana will begin the school year as members of the 2011-12 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee (SAC).

Each year, the IHSAA receives nominations from school principals on behalf of student-athletes who attended the IHSAA Student Leadership Conference in June. From that group of nominations, 20 are selected for interviews by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee, Executive Staff and returning members of the SAC. From those 20 interviews, nine are invited to join the new group.

Nine seniors return for a second year with the committee while nine juniors will take part for the first time. Among the returning seniors are Jessica Brown of Mt. Vernon (Fortville) and Abbie Newton of Harrison (West Lafayette) who were elected as co-presidents by their peers for the school year.

Individuals who will serve as part of this year’s committee include:

Name Grade School
Jessica Brown* 12 Mt. Vernon (Fortville) High School
Josh Clark 11 Perry Meridian High School
Anthony Douglas II 11 South Bend Washington High School
Alex Dunn 11 Jay County High School
Tessa Faulkens 11 North Central High School  (Indpls.)
Isaac Gilkey 12 Evansville North High School
Robert  Jackson 12 Decatur Central High School
Katie Kaufman 12 Indianapolis Cathedral High School
Shelby Merder 11 Jasper High School
Tyler Mills 12 Center Grove High School
Abbie Newton* 12 Harrison (West  Lafayette) High School
Mac Norton 11 Mooresville High School
Brynn Olinger 11 Plainfield High School
Abby Rogers 12 Bloomington North High School
Nathan Smith 12 Muncie Central High School
Ally Stein 11 Hamilton Southeastern High School
Gregory Thome 12 Valparaiso High School
Taylor Turchi 11 North Vermillion High School
* Co-Presidents    


The IHSAA began sponsoring the Student Advisory Committee in 2001-02 to give the group of student-athletes hands-on experience and a voice to the IHSAA staff.

The SAC meets four times annually – twice each semester – and is responsible for hosting meetings with student peers at the upcoming Fall Area Principals Meetings; assisting with the awards ceremonies at IHSAA state championship events throughout the school year and; planning and administering the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference in June.

Other SAC functions include the development of an IHSAA Captain’s Handbook which will be distributed to member schools this fall as well as assisting in the creation of multiple public service announcements addressing good sporting behavior which will be utilized during 2011-12 state championships events.




South Bend Washington senior wide receiver Gehrig Dieter hauled in 8 receptions for a state record 373 yards and 5 touchdowns in Saturday’s 46-23 win over visiting Bloomington North. Dieter’s 373 yards ties him for the eighth-best mark on the NFHS national all-time top performances list.

According to the Indiana Football Coaches Association which maintains state records in numerous categories, the previous best of 362 yards had been shared by Jason Yurack of Rushville in 1992 and Burke Eiteljorg of Park Tudor in 1997.

You may read more on the game from the South Bend Tribune’s Curt Rallo here. The NFHS Record Book, including the receiving yards per game category on page 97, may be downloaded here.




Please note the start time for the IHSAA Fall Principals Meeting at North Daviess High School on Thursday, September 29, was incorrectly published in various IHSAA communications as 9:30 am CDT. The meeting will begin at 9:30 am EDT.


IHSAA 11-12/03