IHSAA News Release

May 2, 2011

The Board of Directors of the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. approved 54 proposals, defeated one and tabled another for further discussion during its annual review of the Association’s by-laws on Monday. All approved measures are effective immediately.

The most significant items from today’s meeting are highlighted below:

In order to secure a greater commitment of meeting minimum membership standards, a more stringent requirement was unanimously approved (18-0) which now requires a four-year waiting period before a new school will be allowed to participate in a state tournament series. The current waiting period is two years. Also, a $2,000 initiation fee must accompany the new school’s application for membership. Existing member schools that consolidate or divide into multiple schools are excluded from both requirements.

An amendment to Rule 19-6.1l, was approved (16-2) which allows the potential for full eligibility to a student who is transferring to a member boarding school. That is provided that the transfer is determined to be in the best interest of the student, that no athletic-related motives surround the transfer, and that the principals of both sending and receiving schools have affirmed such in writing.

Approved (18-0) clarifications for the rules on scrimmages and jamborees in various sports in that schools may conduct one or the other but not both, that only student-athletes with full eligibility may participate and that these events cannot be scouted.

Approved (18-0) a change in the annual start date of physical examinations from May 1 to April 1. The additional month will provide flexibility for parents, students and family practitioners in meeting the requirement for participation.

After extended discussion by the Board, a by-law proposal involving Rule 18-8 which would eliminate the requirement that a student completes 50% of his or her coursework at the member school was tabled for further study.

A proposal that essentially would remove the limited eligibility provision of the by-laws and allow students immediate full eligibility when enrollment is approved by the school corporation for students not residing in their district was unanimously defeated (0-18).

The elections for next year’s leadership of the Board and Executive Committee also were held. John Marks, Principal at Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran was voted Board President for 2011-12 and Connersville Athletic Director Pam Noble was selected as Vice-President. Nathan Dean, Jimtown Principal, was named Chairman of the 2011-12 Executive Committee and Tim Grove, North Knox Principal, was confirmed as Vice-Chairman.

About the Board of Directors
The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three-year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative. The Board of Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By-Laws and regulations.

District, Seat Board Member Term Ends
District I, Class A Debb Stevens, Caston June 2011
District I, Class AA Nathan Dean, Jimtown June 2012
District I, Class AAA Geoff Penrod, Columbia City June 2011
District I, Class AAAA Joe Santa, Warsaw June 2012
District II, Class A Ken Howell, Blue River Valley June 2012
District II, Class AA Jim Diagostino, Tri-West Hendricks June 2011
District II, Class AAA Steve Cox, Beech Grove June 2012
District II, Class AAAA Phillip Ford, Jay County June 2011
District III, Class A Jed Jerrels, North Daviess June 2011
District III, Class AA Tim Grove, North Knox** June 2012
District III, Class AAA Mike Whitten, Boonville June 2011
District III, Class AAAA Phillip DeLong, Castle* June 2012
North District, Female Nancy Alspaugh, Manchester June 2013
North District, Minority Deborah Watson, Fort Wayne Snider June 2013
North District, Urban Janis Qualizza, Merrillville June 2013
South District, Female Pam Noble, Connersville June 2013
South District, Minority Victor Bush, Indianapolis Public Schools June 2013
South District, Urban Paul Neidig, Evansville Central June 2013
Private School John Marks, Fort Wayne Concordia June 2013

* President
** Vice-President


Following the Board meeting, the IHSAA Executive Committee conducted its monthly meeting.

Girls gymnastics, which is reviewed annually given that less than 25% of the membership participates in the sport, was unanimously approved to continue as a sponsored sport.

The host site of the girls basketball state finals for 2012 was also discussed. Indications are that no Indianapolis venue is scheduled to be available on Saturday, March 3, 2012 so the Committee agreed to request bids from interested parties with a site selection to be announced this summer. The Allen County War Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne has been the host site the last two years.

Campagna Academy, located in Schererville in Lake County and a member school since 2005, has notified the Commissioner that it will be leaving the membership at the end of the current school year. The school’s withdrawal leaves 101 schools in each of the four classes and thus the new classifications and accompanying sectional assignments released in recent weeks remain unchanged.

The Board of Directors has four options on each proposal: affirm, deny, table or amend. A simple majority is necessary to act on any measure. All items passed during the meeting go into effect immediately. A copy of the minutes from today’s Board meeting and ensuing Executive Committee meeting have been posted to the IHSAA website. A copy of the current by-laws also is available. All proposals are considered in the order that the affected rule appears within the current by-laws.


IHSAA 10-11/37